Vessels

During my previous course work I used vessels as a way of exploring loss and emptiness. Vessels are also often circular and therefore portray a continuation, life cycle. I believe these ideas are still important to my current practice, but I want to develop these ideas further.

Tying in with my thought processes and research around ossuaries and charnel houses, the skull and more specifically the cranium has an interesting vessel like shape. The head is also where memories are made and hats protect our heads. These all tie together well.

skullI want to experiment with the cranium shape as a  vessel.

I have a plastic educational skull and I cast the cranium in plaster to create a mould for further experimentation.

skull plaster Cast

I have used this as a mold for textured clay samples as well as paper pulp.

PaperPulpSkull_plain

I used cotton pulp pressed into the plaster mold with a knitted hat impression on the inside.

PaperPulpSkull_plain1

The other side shows the skull texture.

PaperPulpSkull_plainDetail

Detail.

PaperPulpSkull_ink

Next I created another but used chinese ink on the knitting to accentuate the texture…

PaperPulpSkull_ink1

But it leaked through to the other side.

PaperPulpSkull_dye

I dyed some of the cotton pulp naturally with walnuts having alum mordanted it first.

I put a thick layer of walnut dyed pulp first and let most of the moisture dry out (24hrs) then I put another layer in with knitting covered in chinese ink.

I left this to dry for several days.

PaperPulpSkull_dye1

This definately worked better and the walnut gives a good bone like colour.

Next I tried using damp handmade paper sheets of cotton pulp laid into the mold as well as over a domed mold…

SheetPaperSkull_plain

Texture of knitting

SheetPaperSkull_plain2

Skull shape

SheetPaperSkull_plain3

This reminds me of the papery texture of skin on egyptian mummies or papery wasp nests.

ClayImpression

Clay with knitting impression

ClaySkull

Skull detail on the outside

Porcelain_boneAsh

I also tried a basic bone china mix… Porcelain clay with 30% (ish) bone ash added.

Porcelain_boneAshSkull

 

 

One response to “Vessels

  1. Pingback: Julia Anne Goodman – Skinscapes | OCA 3: Advanced Textiles·

Leave a Reply

