Dye Garden

I love the historic nature of natural dyeing, ancient traditions that are still relevant today. I also love the fact that some of the plants have other connections and meanings, both within medicine and other traditional customs. Extending my interest further I have become more and more interested in starting a dye garden of my own, with a selection of plants that can be used to dye yarns and fibres.

A mention of twitter sometime ago allowed me to make a connection with @AndreaSomewhere a Gardener, knitter, spinner, tea drinker, cake eater from London who very kindly sent me a selection of seeds and an indigo plant.

  • Indigofera Heterantha
  • Alcea Rosea
  • Weld
  • Woad
  • Persicaria Tinctoria
  • Baptisia Tinctoria

I have re-potted the indigo plant…

DyePlants

And I have some seedlings growing from the seeds that I was sent…

DyeSeedlings

I will continue to show the development of my dye garden over the duration of this module here.

Leave a Reply

