Ines Seidel

I think I discovered the work of German artist Ines Seidel via Pinterest. I find her exploration of space and memories really fascinating as well as the raw visual approach to her pieces.

Some of her approaches to space and emptiness feel similar to my ideas. She draws attention to empty space and alludes to what was once present. She also uses similar materials to convey her ideas. Paper, concrete, thread, fabric and found items, as well as the use of vessels.

two half stories

die Schale verlassen - leaving the shell

Her work resonated with me because of the raw nature of each finished piece, they have a tactile rough and unpolished essence that I love. I have never enjoyed or felt compelled to over work my work either. There is a beauty in this rawness.

An interesting post exploring her practice and working process can be read here:

https://munichartists.com/2015/11/05/guest-post-by-ines-seidel/

 

Leave a Reply

