Exploring Difficult Memory

Difficult memories are heavy, hard to get rid of, burden and weigh you down…

I have kept on coming back to these ideas within my sketchbook. Each  time I have used vessels as a metaphor for containing thoughts, feelings and memories. I like the idea of revisiting concrete as a way to add weight and immovability.

memory

memory1

memory2

memory4

memory5

Concrete cast box using lace impression.

memory6

Lace detail

memory7

Heavy box

This is a good initial sample but the detail isn’t strong enough. I will revisit this again!


24th June

I have spent some time reconsidering how I approach the ideas for this piece.

I am particularly pleased with the symbol of the entombed box, it is heavy and visually feels right to explore the difficult memory I am trying to explore. However the square internal shape is too severe and the impression too vague.

I have decided to go back to the drawings I did originally and use the cranium shape, I also think it is important to go back to knitting as a means of impression. The detail will be stronger and will create a more significant impression. I am keen for the difficult memory to have a small element of precious memory. Memories however hard usually have brighter moments. With this in mind I started to explore the possibilities of having an visual impression but within that adding the inclusion of pewter.

memory4a

I also felt that although heavy the idea of being constantly with us has not been addressed. At the moment a single concrete box could be abandoned, I want to consider the idea of having to drag these memories with us wherever we go. I have therefore started to explore ideas of a fabric train, a conceptual addition to show strain and difficulty.


5th July

Using my previous ideas I have recast a new approach. First I made a cast within my plaster mold of knitting in pewter. I then used this knitted piece wrapped around my plaster skull shape to push into concrete within a box. I also placed a long section of muslin cloth within one corner. I weighted down the knitting so that it didn’t get pushed out of the concrete and waited for the concrete to cure.

memory8

memory9

memory10

I am much more pleased with this outcome. I feel I do need work on it further but it is starting to come together. The weight is accentuated by the addition of the fabric length, pulled taught it gives a strain to the tension. looking down into the cast  there is a sense of spiralling or sinking and there is a permanence to the use of concrete and a sense of an inability to shake the memory.

One response to “Exploring Difficult Memory

  1. I love the heavy concrete box, it effectively transmit a sense of danger, like radioactive containment. Perhaps the memories encased in it could be made more fragile and reflect a different shape?

    Like

Leave a Reply

