Emir Šehanović

As my interest and exploration of Bosnia and it’s history has grown, I have started to explore artists from Bosnia and surrounding areas. I discovered Emir Šehanović during a google search and came across this image below:

“Let the evil always pass and never come in!” Emir Šehanović

At first I thought this image was items of jewellery contained with in intestines and it immediately drew my attention but it turns out it is of jewellery within wax.

I wonder whether this work is about the war. Retention of possessions, family heirlooms from looting and the missing people executed and left in mass graves.

I like the repulsive nature of this piece, it looks like body parts or body fluid spilt on the floor. It leaves you wanting to keep away rather than drawing you in.

Leave a Reply

