Production of Ceramic skulls

I have started to produce the ceramic skulls for this piece of work. I have been very lucky to be able to produce these. Ceramic artist Marie Darkins at Magdalen Road Studios, where I work as studio manager, has kindly agreed to fire these for me.

Having worked out that I need close to 20 individual skulls, I have started the slow process of producing these individually one by one.

I want each to be different to accentuate the reality of individuality within mass graves. I have used old lace samples left to me by my mum in some, as well as knitted samples all different within each.

beforeinitialfiring

Initial pieces before the initial firing.

beforeinitialfiring1

Lace detail before initial firing

beforeoxides

Knitted sample after initial firing

settingout

Placing initial samples to visualise the finished piece of work.

finished3before

After the first firing I carefully painted black copper oxide into the fabric impressions to accentuate the textures and also to give an aged/decayed feel.

finished4before

Detail of copper oxide before second firing

finished4

Lace detail after last firing. The earthy brown colour gives a really effective aged effect.

finished3

Examples of the first batch finished.

Leave a Reply

